3k on the Green / Race Report / Race Reports

Bowness and Senior First Foot the Green

Record Breaker – James Bowness

Unusual for this time of the year but we’re glad to report that almost perfect conditions welcomed a fantastic 118 runners to the first 3k on the Green of 2018. The competitors first footing the Green included UK Athletics internationalist James Bowness of Trafford AC/Caledonian University, who placed third at the European Athletics Team Championships Super League 800m race in Lille last June with a time of 1:48:19.  The Glasgow based Lecturer was a bit slower on his debut at ‘the best wee race in Scotland’ but not much, as he smashed the course record completing the 3000m in a remarkable time of 8:31. Runner-up Grant Baillie of East Kilbride was more than half a minute behind the Dumfriesshire born Bowness but still no slouch crossing the line in 9:05, a PB by one second. Kilbarchan AAC youngster Josh Hendry earned bronze with an impressive time of 9:12. Definitely, one to watch for the future. In all, nine runners completed the fast course in under ten minutes, with Cambuslang’s Chris Upson just missing out but placing first Super Vet (M50+) with a time of 10:03.


Mary Senior, far left, celebrates with the other Garscube gals

In the women’s event Garscube Harrier, Mary Senior earned gold, crossing the line in an excellent time of 11:39 some seven seconds ahead of Paula Docherty who earned silver with 11:46. Gill Blee had a good confidence booster ahead of her forthcoming Seville Marathon, placing third with a time of 11:51.  We wish her well.  The supervet (F50+) race was won by Glasgow South Road Runner, Maria Doherty (13:05).


This was not only our first event of the year but also our first event supported by Run 4 It who donated discount vouchers to all finishers. We’re looking to introduce some more incentives in association with Run 4 It in the coming months.



Al Murray presents the prize to Derek Summerville

Race Director, Al Murray also presented Derek Sommerville with a Clydesdale Bank £10 with the serial number 3000 as in 3k, after his name was drawn at random from the entrants in a run late last year.


All of this for just £2, which goes to charity, this month’s fees were donated to Hospice UK.

Many thanks to everyone who participated in the race and to the volunteers who made it happen. We look forward to seeing you and your friends on the last Friday in February.

Full Results

1 James Bowness Senior M Trafford AC 00:08:31
2 Grant Baillie Senior M East Kilbride AC 00:09:05
3 Josh Hendry Junior M Kilbarchan 00:09:12
4 Chris Mooney Senior M Greenock Glenpark Harriers 00:09:17
5 Jason Bell Senior M Helensburgh AC 00:09:18
6 Darran Muir Veteran M Law & District 00:09:23
7 Michael Healy Veteran M Cambuslang Harriers 00:09:42
8 Iain Carroll Senior M 00:09:44
9 Colin Whitby Senior M Irvine Running Club 00:09:45
10 Chris Upson Super Veteran M Cambuslang Harriers 00:10:03
11 Richard Cooper Veteran M 00:10:07
12 Eddie Neilson Veteran M 00:10:17
13 Gary McKendrick Super Veteran M Inverclyde AC 00:10:24
14 Mark King Veteran M Glasgow South Road Runners 00:10:25
15 David Gifford Senior M J P Morgan RC 00:10:36
16 Simon Gold Veteran M Cambuslang Harriers 00:10:37
17 David Cunningham Veteran M Glasgow Tri Club 00:10:38
18 Grant Matheson Super Veteran M Falkirk Victoria 00:10:43
19 Fraser McPhail Veteran M Troon Tortoises 00:10:46
20 William Martin Veteran M 00:10:55
21 Stephen Hanley Senior M Greenock Glenpark Harriers 00:11:02
22 Andrew McCafferty Senior M 00:11:03
23 Kenny Burns Senior M 00:11:14
24 Bruce Smith Super Veteran M Carnethy HRC 00:11:20
25 Dimitrios Sotiriou Senior M 00:11:28
26 Steven Wilson Veteran M 00:11:30
27 Alastair MacLachlan Super Veteran M Bellahouston Roadrunners 00:11:30
28 Paul Housley Senior M 00:11:31
29 Andrew Cameron Super Veteran M 00:11:33
30 Alan Owen Super Veteran M Whitemoss AAC 00:11:34
31 Jonny Moran Veteran M Bellahouston Roadrunners 00:11:35
32 David McDonald Senior M 00:11:38
33 Mary Senior Veteran F Garscube Harriers 00:11:39
34 Chris Furse Veteran M Westerlands 00:11:40
35 Neil Scott Senior M 00:11:41
36 Chris Hendry Senior M 00:11:42
37 Angus Beaton Veteran M 00:11:44
38 John McParland Senior M Motherwell AC 00:11:44
39 Colin Dobbie Senior M 00:11:45
40 Paula Docherty Senior F 00:11:46
41 Rob Gallacher Senior M 00:11:47
42 Andrew Holloway Senior M 00:11:49
43 James Clifford Senior M Glasgow Frontrunners 00:11:50
44 Gillian Blee Senior F 00:11:51
45 Graeme Ritchie Senior M 00:11:54
46 Ross West Senior M 00:11:59
47 Robin McAuslan Super Veteran M Greenock Glenpark Harriers 00:12:01
48 Stuart Lorraine Super Veteran M 00:12:03
49 Mhairi Donaldson Senior F Shettleston Harriers 00:12:05
50 Anthony Quinn Super Veteran M Cartha Harriers 00:12:08
51 Laura Gray Senior F Garscube Harriers 00:12:09
52 Lesley McArdle Senior F 00:12:10
53 David Graham Senior M G72 Tri 00:12:10
54 Liam Cavin Veteran M 00:12:16
55 Scott Angus Veteran M 00:12:18
56 Mark Waters Senior M Team GB 00:12:21
57 Jason Rae Senior M 00:12:22
58 John Brown Veteran M 00:12:24
59 Derek Somerville Veteran M 00:12:24
60 Finlay Macrae Veteran M 00:12:28
61 Linda Woodcraft Veteran F 00:12:31
62 Robert Cleary Senior M 00:12:33
63 David Hoolaghan Senior M Motherwell AC 00:12:38
64 Steven Love Veteran M 00:12:41
65 Alasdair Beaton Senior M 00:12:43
66 Steven Robertson Veteran M 00:12:44
67 Martha Lovatt Senior F Garscube Harriers 00:12:45
68 Alison Locke Senior F Garscube Harriers 00:12:45
69 Keith Gibb Super Veteran M Bellahouston Roadrunners 00:12:46
70 Gordon Gallacher Veteran M Bellahouston Harriers 00:12:47
71 Stephen Harris Super Veteran M 00:12:49
72 Scott Fergus Veteran M 00:12:50
73 Stevie McCrae Veteran M 00:12:51
74 Craig Pollock Veteran M 00:12:52
75 Philip O’Neil Veteran M 00:12:55
76 Lesley Corr Veteran F Springburn Harriers 00:12:56
77 Gareth Shields Veteran m 00:12:57
78 Claire Fitzsimmons Senior F Bellahouston Harriers 00:12:59
79 Mark Beech Senior M Road Runners Club 00:13:03
80 Maria Doherty Super Veteran F Glasgow South Road Runners 00:13:05
81 Morag Casey Veteran F Garscube Harriers 00:13:08
82 Anne Scott Veteran F 00:13:15
83 Ada Stewart Super Veteran F Kirkintilloch Olympians 00:13:15
84 Angela Campbell Senior F Bellahouston Harriers 00:13:16
85 Keith Charters Super Veteran M East Kilbride AC 00:13:17
86 Emily Jackson Senior F Bellahouston Harriers 00:13:21
87 Neil Thomson Senior M 00:13:31
88 Susan Hillis Veteran F 00:13:33
89 Shirley McNab Super Veteran F Kirkintilloch Olympians 00:13:40
90 Peter Rudzinski Super Veteran M Clydesdale Harriers 00:13:56
91 Stewart Campbell Super Veteran M 00:14:10
92 Simon Porter Senior M 00:14:11
93 Sean Belliveau Senior M 00:14:18
94 Scott Gallacher Senior m 00:14:21
95 Stuart Eddington Senior M 00:14:21
96 Imran Ali Senior M 00:14:23
97 Gordon Campbell Super Veteran M 00:14:24
98 Stephen Norrie Senior M 00:14:24
99 Karen Speirs Veteran F Bellahouston Harriers 00:14:28
100 Graeme Aitken Veteran M 00:14:28
101 William Mitchell Super Veteran M Cambuslang Harriers 00:14:31
102 Eddie McLaughlin Super Veteran M 00:14:34
103 Brian Mullholland Veteran M 00:14:35
104 Paula Anderson Senior F 00:14:50
105 Gillian Starr Veteran F 00:15:09
106 Andrew Gallacher Veteran M 00:15:10
107 Laura Gardiner Senior F 00:15:12
108 Rachel Clark Senior F 00:15:19
109 Frazer Howie Senior M 00:15:24
110 Donna Black Senior F 00:15:38
111 Liz Deans Super Veteran F grl 00:16:00
112 Brian Graham Super Veteran M Kilbarchan 00:16:01
113 Michael Golik Senior M 00:16:04
114 Marta Oleszczuk Senior F 00:16:31
115 John Softley Super Veteran M Bellahouston Harriers 00:17:14
116 Sarah Berry Veteran F 00:17:20
117 May Blackburn Super Veteran F 00:19:21
118 Kirsti Sutherland Senior F 00:19:59

Race Supported by Run 4 It



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!